top of page

About Online Therapy

This article presents answers to questions clients have asked in the past. I hope that it helps you determine if online counseling is the right fit for you!

What type of therapist are you? I am a licensed mental health counselor in the state of Florida and also hold a license as a national certified counselor in the United States and as a psychologist in Colombia.

How does online therapy work? I provide therapy through a video platform that's encrypted and secured to protect your privacy and confidentiality. I will provide you with a link to this platform and a password to enter the secure space from where we will hold the session.

Is online therapy as effective as face to face therapy? There's a lot of research that demonstrates that online therapy is as effective as in person therapy for a variety of concerns related to anxiety, depression, stress related symptoms, recovery from an eating disorder if weight is stable and other issues that can be affecting you such as life transitions and loss. Online therapy can be convenient for people who have busy schedules, lack transportation, travel often, have young children or physical limitations.

Does insurance cover online therapy? Some insurance companies cover online therapy so I highly recommend that you check with your health carrier directly for more details about the types of coverage they provide for online and offline mental health services.

If insurance doesn’t cover online therapy, what is the cost of sessions? Please call me directly for a FREE 45 minute initial assessment to learn more about how online therapy works and how it can help YOU! We can try together the online format and see if this would be a good option for you.

Can somebody else pay for my sessions? Yes! We only need a signed consent form that allows me to communicate with that person for financial reasons only. That person won’t have information about what we talk or access to your records.

What kind of device do I need to participate in online therapy? You can use your home or office computer, your iPad or iPod, or your smartphone. I also highly recommend you use a headset or headphones to increase privacy and decrease outside distractions.

What kind of internet service do I need for online therapy? If you are able to watch videos and movies on your computer or other devices, your internet connection will work just fine for online therapy. I have held sessions in Colombia while I was on vacation and my client was in England on a trip!

Where do I have to be for my session? You are able to have your therapy session wherever you feel comfortable as long as you have privacy and access to the internet.

I'm an English or Spanish Speaker who lives outside of the United States, can you be my therapist? The laws differ from country to country. If you contact me, I will research the laws to provide teletherapy in that country and let you know the outcome ASAP.

I don't live in Florida, can you work with me as a therapist? I can only provide services in Florida and other states that don’t require additional licensure.

I have never participated in therapy, how does it work? Online sessions are completely confidential and all of your records are kept secured by HIPAA regulations. We can have a free online or phone consult to determine if I’m the right fit for you and we will develop a counseling plan together to ensure that we will meet your goals. Sessions can be held once or twice a week depending on your current needs.

If you have additional questions, please feel free to contact me directly at 561.305.2497 or email me at carolinagaviriamhc@gmail.com. I will provide a FREE consultation to determine if online therapy is right for you.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page